COVID -19.  My take on the mask and what I am doing to stay safe.

Greetings to you, my usual followers; and thanks for being there.  For you who just hit that magic follow button, I am grateful.

Tonight I want to dispel the myths of the mask.

What is a mask going to do for you, regarding Covid-19?

  • Peace of mind
  • Blunt the distance your water droplets travel away from you.

Notice I did not say the virus, I said water droplets which might contain the virus.

 

Shocked?

Here is the reason; The Science is,  The virus is  .005 um in size.  You can only see it with an electron microscope.

Your surgical mask blocks contaminate as small as .1um. In case you’re math-challenged, the pores in your mask look like wide-open doors to the virus. .005um is orders of magnitude smaller than .1um.

You can test if the mask is working, or if you have it on correctly by the following.  Spray some Isoamyl acetate close to the person with the mask.  If they smell bananas, it is a failure.

You don’t have that, use this.  Smoke is .04 to 4 Um  Light a match.

No matches, Perfume, another ‘ester’ not unlike Isoamyl acetate is .3 um.  Can you smell it?  It is a fail.

As you can tell from the ‘science,’ you need some serious PPE to protect yourself.  Surgical and N95 mask both block a percentage of particles to  0.1um.  They have several layers that would have the virus weaving in and around the fibers, unlike a bandana.

The face shield, along with the N95 mask, properly worn, will protect most, from picking up the virus.  Those that know better don’t tell you this, because they need the ‘good ppe” to be available to the medical professionals.  Most civilians would probably not wear the mask properly anyway, and if there are any air gaps, it is a waste of a mask.

Another thing about these respirators, the N95, is you need to be medically fit to wear one of these things.  They restrict the flow of oxygen (air), so breathing can be a bit of a challenge.

There is a dark side to this whole thing, which I am not sure about.  It is this. Let’s say you are asymptomatic, and you are positive.  Instead of shedding this virus through respiration, you are re-inhaling it.  As the virus multiplies, which it does like rabbits, you are adding more of the virus into your system.  For all of the press briefings and all the hysteria, I cannot believe why the good folks that are paid to keep us safe, have not told us these things.

Let me tell you what I am doing.  Firstly, I am getting outside as much as possible.  I have worked in the garden, spent time in the pool, and walked the neighborhood.  I have even spent some time laying in the sun, although no more than about ten minutes a side and not during the hottest parts of the day.  Well before noon, or after five…

Here is something else I am doing, and I wish I had stock in the company.  I have ozone generators.  Why, and what do they do?

Ozone is well known to inactivate viruses that are on surfaces.  I spend a lot of time in my office.  When I leave it in the evening, I turn on the generator and let it run.  By morning that half of the house has been flooded with ozone.  Any virus or bacteria is most assuredly worse for wear.  Now, I could take that one step further and put it in the bedroom during the day, which I have done on occasion.

You can run these things in bathrooms or other areas like the kitchen at night.

Your mileage may vary, and ozone is an irritant. Don’t run it when you are in the room with it.  Ozone can and will most of the time cause mild irritation to your sinuses. Don’t be in the same place with it, and air out the room you have sanitized before you occupy it.  I have no idea if breathing ozone would have any effect on the virus in your body.  I would think the irritating effects of the ozone, would just add to your misery.  Since the virus would be in a damp warm area I seriously doubt it would have any effect, other than to make you more miserable.

I am just telling you what I am doing to minimize my risk of exposure. Don’t come after me if you follow what I am doing and get sick.  That is your disclaimer.  My blogs are for entertainment only…LOL  Yes, there are litigious people out there that would go after the tooth fairy if they knew an activist judge who got cheated as a kid.

Ozone generators are available on Amazon.  They have been sold for eons through different manufactures of expensive air filters.  I used to have one of those fancy air filters.  The fan motor went out, and I could not find a replacement.

I have a theory about this whole thing, which I will also share.  See what you think.  This virus is a very hyped-up version of the coronavirus, which exists in many forms.  This one is more contagious than the others, and like the flu, there are different strains.  Some strains tend not to be so severe,  and some appear to be doing other damage than just to the respiratory system. ‘your lungs.’ It is a single strand of RNA, which, if I remember my biology, makes it less stable.

I have doubts that they will create a vaccine for it, certainly not by this fall.  We ‘the human race’ have become where we are by taking risks.  When you get in your car, crawl in the shower, or even eat your dinner, you are taking risks.  4000 Americans die each year from choking on their food.

I think sooner or later everyone will be exposed to it, and will either get very sick and die, or they won’t.  The older you are or, the more comorbidities that you have, change your odds as to how you will fair.  Weigh your risks versus living your life.

I am not advocating throw all caution to the wind, but what I am saying is this, If you have to work to support your family, you might have to make some tough choices.

I realize that is a sobering thought, and I hate to leave you with that note.  We can watch the southern hemisphere and see how they do through their fall and winter.  We can hope that greed motivates companies to create a vaccine or, at the very least, therapeutics that decrease your odds of needing a ventilator.

Yes, I meant greed.  There are very few companies that are so altruistic that they are only motivated by the selfless act of spending millions on saving millions of people.  Big Pharma does not work that way.

I am also convinced without capitalism (greed) we would still be living in caves.

Wash your hands, social distance, and use common sense.

If you like what I have written, hit that follow button and tell me hello. Many of you have over the years, and I feel like I know some of you through your blogs.

Till Next Time…

Much love, Stay Safe…-TW

Author: AuthorTWScott

Author, Writer, Artist, Graphic Artist ... Over 32 published novels crossing many genres. www.authortwscott.com

Leave a comment